Thought for today…

I’ve been thinking about blogging for quite a while now. In fact, I’ve started several times but just couldn’t get organized. Finally, today, I decided that I don’t need to be organized or have a theme. I’m just going to post my thoughts, feelings, opinions, etc. Why not? It’s my blog.

So, today I’m going to write about how I’m feeling right now. First, I want to set the scene for these feelings. I am very happily married and have a wonderful grown son who just graduated from college with honors. He is getting ready to start a great job and is excited about his future. I have a wonderful sister who is like my twin and makes my life better in so many ways. I have terrific friends who are supportive and fun. That said, I also have my own challenges.

First, one of my very best friends is dying from stage IV anal cancer. I’ve been with her through this awful journey since April 2015. I’ve watched her fight knowing that she can’t win this battle. She’s suffered through chemo and all that brings. She’s been sick, tired, angry, and frustrated. We’ve had wonderful times together and I’ve held her hand as she prepares for the end.

With all that going on in my world, I’m also confronted by the current political drama and the latest mass shooting in our country. I’m frustrated, angry, sad, bewildered, and ashamed. I thought I’d continue with my feelings on these issues, politics and guns, but I think I’ll close for now.

I’m praying: for myself, for my loved ones, for my neighbors, for my country, and for the world. Love is what we need most right now.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

