Stunned! Saddened!Incredulous!

I can’t say I never saw this coming. I warned many people that this could happen but I didn’t really believe it would. I had faith, apparently too much faith, that the citizens of the United States of America would reject hatred and lies.

Today I wake to what is being called a nightmare. I shake my head and ask myself how so many people could believe in what Trump was selling. I will never understand it and so, I know I must move on.

For my family, white, protestant, upper-middle class, this is not going to harm us too deeply. I worry about the future for my son as he is beginning his career but I trust in his intelligence and morality and believe he will be fine. We will hold one another close over the next four years and support one another through whatever will come.

My biggest worry is for those who are at the most risk under Trump’s America. The marginalized: women, people of color, the LGBT community, Muslims and those of any non-mainstream faith, those of no faith, immigrants and their families, the disabled, the poor and the middle-class. The future is full of foreboding and danger for these people.

I find myself asking, what can I do now? How can I help? How can I buffer these at-risk people from the hatred that may well rain down on them? How can I assure children that they are safe? How can I spread love and acceptance in the midst of hate and rejection?

No matter what happens to the 240-year-old experiment in Democracy that this United States has achieved. No matter what regressive laws we may have to deal with. No matter that our country has failed.

This is my mission.  I will not change who I am. I will continue to love and accept all people. I will spread love where there is hate. I will stand up for those being persecuted. I will not become a person that I despise.

I call all of my fellow citizens who believe in love, equality, and justice to join me.

 

Leave a Reply

