It’s been a tough four days…

I’m on an emotional roller coaster. I go from sad, to angry, to determined and back again. I feel shock, dismay, disgust, hope, and despair all in one day. I tell myself this is not the end of the world but it is the end of my naive faith in humanity.

One of the results of this election that is most annoying me is the Trumpsters who tell us we need to “get over it”, “the people have spoken”, and we should “come together in unity and peace”. To these people, I say, “BULLSHIT”!

I’m working on “getting over it” when I plan to mobilize with groups who will never stop fighting hatred, racism, and injustice. As for “the people who have spoken”, my candidate won the popular vote so the majority of “the people” spoke for Hillary not Trump. Finally, the “come together in unity and peace” works both ways.

When you decide to get your heads out of your asses and start preaching peaceful unity to the people in your basket, maybe I’ll listen to you.

When you start preaching peace to those people who are harassing children in school with taunts of “you’re going back to Mexico”, maybe I’ll listen to you.

If you ever start preaching peace to your supporters who are going onto university campuses and spitting on Muslims and writing racial slurs on walls and whiteboards, maybe I’ll listen to you.

Should you ever start preaching peace to those animals who are assaulting gay, lesbian, bi-sexual, and transgender people, maybe I’ll listen to you.

Until that time, I won’t listen to you because you are a hypocrite. You preach peace to those who disagree with you but you tolerate violence and hate within your own supporters. I’ll be watching. If you ever start acting the way you preach, I’ll start listening.

 

Leave a Reply

